Promote the ideals of USALacrosse in Connecticut and the growth of the sport

My my My my

Players Named to United States Women's National Team

BALTIMORE – US Lacrosse announced the roster for the 2010-11 U.S. senior women’s national lacrosse team after three days of tryouts at University of Maryland, Baltimore County, July 30-Aug. 1. The 36 players selected by the coaching staff will train for the 2013 Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) World Cup.

US Lacrosse’s selection committee with head coach Ricky Fried and his staff named the following to the U.S. senior women’s national team:

USA Women's National Team, 2010-2011

Athlete                Hometown                 Alma Mater
Sarah Albrecht*        Braintree, MA            Northwestern '06
Amy Altig              Millersville, MD         James Madison '05
Casey Ancarrow         Jarrettsville, MD        James Madison '13
Kelly Berger           Columbia, MD             James Madison '07
Sarah Bullard*         Needham, MA              Duke '11
Jillian Byers          Northport, NY            Notre Dame '09
Caroline Cryer*        Denver, CO               Duke '09
Katrina Dowd           Yorktown Heights, NY     Northwestern '10
Amber Falcone*         Westminster, MD          North Carolina '09
Katy Fitzgerald        North Andover, MA        North Carolina '11
Corrine Gandolfi       Smithtown, NY            Hofstra '10
Kim Griffin            Jarrettsville, MD        James Madison '09
Kathleen Hertsch       Westminster, MD          Hofstra '11
Megan Huether*         Lutherville, MD          Duke '06
Kristin Igoe           Framingham, MA           Boston College '11
Ashby Kaestner         Trappe, MD               Georgetown '10
Alyssa Kildare         Massapequa Park, NY      Johns Hopkins '12
Kristen Kjellman*      Westwood, MA             Northwestern '07
Erica LaGrow*          Skanateales, NY          North Carolina '08
Kendall McBrearty      Alexandria, VA           Virginia '08
Caitlyn McFadden*      Phoenix, MD              Maryland '10
Lindsey Munday*        Chicago, IL              Northwestern '06
Colleen Olsen          Avon, CT                 Dartmouth '10
Brittany Poist         Hampstead, MD            Maryland '11
Mallory Poole          Corning, NY              C.W. Post '08
Katie Rowan*           Delmar, NY               Syracuse '09
Jennifer Russell       Andover, MA              North Carolina '10
Lauren Schmidt         Bay Shore, NY            Stanford '11
Katie Schwarzmann      Sykesville, MD           Maryland '13
Lauren Schwarzmann     Sykesville, MD           Johns Hopkins '08
Danielle Spencer       Rochester, NY            Northwestern '10
Michelle Tumolo        Mullica Hill, NJ         Syracuse '13
Acacia Walker*         Severna Park, MD         Maryland '05
Paris Waterman         Newark, NJ               Brown '11
Devon Wills*           Denver, CO               Dartmouth '06
Laura Zimmerman        Syracuse, NY             North Carolina '12

* Member of 2009 World Cup Team

“This was the most competitive tryout I've ever been a part of,” said Team USA head coach Ricky Fried. “We think that this is the best team of 36 players for the style and tempo we want to play. This group will comprise the core of the team which will defend the gold medal in 2013.”

“Watching tryouts is a truly inspiring experience,” said Nathaniel Badder, director of the U.S. national lacrosse teams program. “Our heartfelt thanks go out to all who participated. These players were so impressive and really made the job of the selectors difficult. They all played so hard on the field and carried themselves so well off of it. It's going to be exciting to watch them come together in the months and years ahead."

In addition to quadrennial world cup play, the U.S. team program competes on an annual basis with tryouts held each summer. Among the annual activities are participation in the US Lacrosse Champion Challenge each January, the US Lacrosse Stars & Stripes Weekend each October and a series of U.S. National Team Clinics at various locations around the country to teach youth and high school players about the sport and the national team program.

Ricky Fried, an assistant coach on the 2009 U.S. world championship team and the head coach at Georgetown University, is the current head coach for the U.S. women's team. He is assisted by Amy Bokker (Stanford), Liz Robertshaw (Boston U.) and Jess Wilk Strosberg (four-time Team USA goalie). Carol Cantele (Gettysburg) serves as head coach for the U.S. developmental team and is assisted by Michele DeJuliis (Princeton) and Bowen Holden (Boston College).

The location and dates of the 2013 FIL World Championship have not yet been announced by the Federation of International Lacrosse. In 2009, Team USA won the gold at the quadrennial event, beating Australia 8-7 in Prague, Czech Republic. The U.S. women's senior team has won either gold or silver in all seven world championships conducted since 1986.